OSXvnc-server not responding error. Want to use ARD ...

Hello,

I am very new to using VNC. I need to be able to remote control my Grandmothers old iMac and I had originally set up Vine Server on it.

I have since had to set up VNC on my fathers G4 and had used Apple’s built in server via System Preferences -> Sharing and was successful in remote accessing his G4.

Back to the iMac and yesterday I deleted Vine Server and enabled ARD as it ‘seemed simpler’ for me. By using a IBM laptop with a built in wireless modem, I tried using a Windows VNC client to connect to the iMac. It would see the server and asked for the password but it continually rejected the password - even though it was correct.

I then looked in the Activity Monitor app and noticed that i had a process showing in red - "OSXvnc-server (Not Responding).

Is this process still part of Vine Server and not ARD and can I go back to using just ARD?

I have set up port forwarding for ports 5500,5800,5900 on the Linksys AM300 ADSL modem as per www. portforward.com but are now at a loss as to why I can’t get this to work?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Mark.

You apparently (and rightfully) set up Vine Server to be a system level process, or daemon which was launched at boot time and is available to all users of your system. Use Activity Monitor to select and kill the non-responding OSXvnc (which may not work when ARD is activated, struggling to grab resources like port 5900 simultaneously.)

To permanently remove the FREE Vine Server, you should launch the Vine Server, then select Startup -> Stop System Server. You will be asked for an adminstrator’s password. Enter it, and press return. The Vine Server (OSXvnc) will not longer be installed to start up as a system level server. You should be good to go. Here’s a link for OSXvnc Vine Server just in case you need it.

http://www.redstonesoftware.com/products/vine/server/vineosx/index.html