more huge script debug helps

I have a very long script (several hundred lines long with multiple repeats in it so much of the same code is similar - it enters about 1000 classified ads in multiple classifications, cars, help wanted, etc) and tried running it over the weekend and it failed. :frowning:

It would be very cool if when a script fails it gave you a line number or some other clue as to exactly where it got to (since the script has about 6 sections of nearly similar code (just entering a different chunk of text into a different classification).

I am going to start reading the hefty docs (which document is best to start with?)

Since I am a newbie I am probably overlooking something but when I came in this morning and saw that it failed I had no clue where it got to in the script, all I had to go on was this:

Fri, 3/19/04 5:36:58 PM	Exception	zip	Image Not Found On Screen "zip" Within 20.00 Seconds
Selection Failed in 1:31:39  Image Not Found waitfor Error - Image Not Found On Screen "zip" Within 20.00 Seconds

So from that I get that it didn’t find an image on the screen, probably cuz I was a numbskull and had a screensaver on the SUT and that the script ran for about an hour and a half. Being able to turn on and off line numbers and have a line number in the error would be very cool cuz now I have to guess where it got to and try “run selection” to see if I can get it to complete tonight.

Any other ideas - and help on which part of the docs would be best to read first would be very appreciated. I read “Getting Started” and small parts out of eggplant reference and sensetalk reference so far. Thank you very much for your good/complete answers thus far.

Thanks,

Brad

Brad: