Have you tested Eggplant with VNC compression products?

I’m relatively new to the world of VNC but my initial impression is that it can be slow. I’ve followed many suggestions for speeding up the performance of VNC but was wondering if you have investigated using VNC compression products such as Tight VNC or VNC tight encoder.

VNC and the RFB protocol support a number of different compression algorithms (they are usually referred to as Encodings).

Eggplant supports the following Encodings (from most to least compressed), you can control which are enabled in the Eggplant Preferences menu.

ZRLE (a Run Length Encoding followed by a Gzip of the data)
ZlibHex (a tiled encoding that supports Gzipped data)
ZRaw (the bitmap changes Gziped)
HexTile (a tiled encoding format)
RRE (Rise and Run Encoding)
CoRRE (Extended Rise and Run Encoding)
CopyRect (For Copying Rectangles that are already at the client machine)
Raw

Keep in mind that not all VNC servers support all encodings. RealVNC doesn’t support ZlibHex and ZRaw, and TightVNC doesn’t support ZRLE. OSXvnc supports all of the formats used above. When connecting to a server that doesn’t support an encoding you don’t need to disable them - Eggplant will automatically negotiate a setting.

We do not support Tight encoding primarily because the best tight encodings use lossy compression - fine for remote control but very bad for Eggplant Image comparison.

Eggplant supports the following Encodings (from most to least compressed), you can control which are enabled in the Eggplant Preferences menu.

ZRLE (a Run Length Encoding followed by a Gzip of the data)
ZlibHex (a tiled encoding that supports Gzipped data)
ZRaw (the bitmap changes Gziped)
HexTile (a tiled encoding format)
RRE (Rise and Run Encoding)
CoRRE (Extended Rise and Run Encoding)
CopyRect (For Copying Rectangles that are already at the client machine)
Raw