Have you ever used Sikuli or other image recognition tools?

I’ve been using Eggplant for more than 3 years now and I’m very satisfied. But my team is thinking about expanding automation and seeing if there are any cheaper tools. What are the advantages of Eggplant over any other image recognition testing tools? Especially Sikuli! Please list as much as you can, it’s easier to convience someone with a longer list. )

Hi Jason–

Sikuli is very limited in what it can do.

First, it resides on the system you’re testing, meaning you violate the sanctity of the application you are testing.

Second, it only has one method of searching the screen, we have 5; plus those have many parameters that can be adjusted to tailor it to your application’s specific needs.

Third, if you look at the list of commands, it’s very limited. SenseTalk is a much more powerful scripting engine, and has hundreds of built in functions.

Next, it has no real reporting, nor any way to work with those reports from a script.

Lastly, it doesn’t let you control multiple machines from a single script… you have to copy that script to each machine in order to run it instead of having one central controller that goes through and tests each system you need tested.

I hope this helps. Please feel free to contact sales@testplant.com and they can help you argue your case.

Allen

That helps! Thanks! Please let me know if you can think of anything else.

Another point worth mentioning is that Eggplant is specifically designed as a testing tool. This is particularly evident in the Results and Schedules areas, but goes much deeper, too, with things like the logging commands, the RunWithNewResults command, and the CaptureScreen and SendMail commands (not to mention the ability to record movies – currently on the Mac version only).