email when script fails and when to start testing...

Hi-
I am not a programmer… so please forgive my lack of knowledge about all of this…

I am looking for a way to run a smoke test - suite (that will create some files that I will need to verify)- on a build -every day- once it is published (usually in the middle of the night) and then download and run tests and then email with the results.

I currently use the Schedule for my test suite - kicked off manually by me.
And I have set up email - (got that piece in place) and ran a single test, but it is more complicated than I can figure out - how to integrate the email with the schedule of tasks.

Is there documentation on this type of stuff? I have looked around and I found some stuff in the help, but it really isn’t clear to me how to make the email piece happen throughout the script.

i also found information about the wait command - but the image of the build will always show before the copy is complete… and the size can change, so I don’t know how to capture an image that is complete…

so here is what I think I need:

somehow tell eggplant that the build is ready?

run my scripts (which include creating files - that save to a directory)

if any failure in scripts - send an email with the log files from eggplant and any log file from the application?? (not sure how to do this either - I tried some things but only got a blank email)

else - success - then email that the scripts passed and the files are ready for review.

Seems like a simple if statement, but I am not sure how to get the syntax for all the emails and when to tell eggplant to start
using something other than the wait command.

sorry if this is somewhere else, I looked for a while.
Seems like I have most of the pieces but have no idea what I am still missing or how to kick off eggplant.

thanks for any help you can give on putting together this puzzle.
gina