What's a global Daddy?

Well, I really try hard not to learn new things but I have a problem. Normally I run all my scripts from a Master Script against an SUT running XP. It’s time that I now ran them all on Vista but I want to be able to switch back to XP at will. The first problem is that about 4 images that I use will have to change in EACH script. For example the Start IE image looks different on Vista then on XP and changing to a classic theme won’t change it. So I need to make a new image for Vista but be able to switch all the scripts back to use the old one in a flash.

So what to do? I think the terminology is to declare the images as Global Variables that point to a set of Vista Vs. XP images??

But I’m not a programmer. Which is why Eggplant is so great! a hack like me can do amazing things using only 4% of his brain. But now I must learn a new trick.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Hello, Bass-O-Matic–

We test on 4 platforms, I think I may be able to help you.

First, We store all of our images in eggplant suites on their own-- ie Vista.suite XP.suite (the image suite naming is important, as you will soon see…)

Second, we have a master script as you do, but ours has a repeat loop:

put ("xpSUT.mydomain.com","vistaSUT.mydomain.com") into sut_list
repeat with each sut in sut_list
    connect sut
    //do stuff...
end repeat

Within this loop, we detect the operating system, and then load the correct suite of images:

set global currOS to detectOS
OpenSuite currOS&".suite"

Now, provided that your images are named identically, you can simply reference the image like you normally do:

click "myimage"

So all together, it looks like this:

global currOS
put ("xpSUT.mydomain.com","vistaSUT.mydomain.com") into sut_list
repeat with each sut in sut_list
    connect sut
    set currOS to detectOS
    OpenSuite currOS&".suite"
    click "myimage"
    disconnect
end repeat