My CleanUp Script hates me.

I’m a newbie for shurbie! I don’t really understand the subtleties of getting my CleanUp script to work. I thought I got it but it left me along with my coffee buzzzzzzz…

Ok. So. I’m testing a Windows application ( www.tawala.com login and download the Designer.) and when it comes to Exiting the application it has a pretty standard File Menu. FILE then EXIT will work just fine and if you’ve done some work you may get a save Dialogue asking to you if you want to save your work. So… I’m running my scripts from a master which works great. But when one of my tests fail I want CleanUp to run, close the application and run the next test.

All this works swimmingly except for the actual CleanUp script. It runs it just doesn’t do things in the way I would expect it to…

That is.

It should first try to click on “FileMenu” – an image that opens the Windows File Menu

Then Click on “Exit” – an image that Clicks on Exit to close the application.

AND… if the Save Dialogue comes up… I want it to simply click “No” – an image that will click NO in the save dialogue.

Seems easy huh? I still don’t think I understand the IF vs. Else IF… that must be it… It clicks on FileMenu but it never clicks on Exit. Odd. It’s been explained to me by the finest minds but I think I need to hear it another way… possibly involving 2nd grade grammar… or I need some punch and pie to make it stick.

Here is the offending master script in total and the single script I’m asking it to run and fail just so I can get CleanUp to work. Oh, and anyone can download and test are app… it’s in Alpha… check out www.tawala.com and you can see the DESIGNER application… if it helps… help!

// Master Script

put ( “442_443_444” ) into scriptList

repeat for each item in scriptList
try
put it
run it
catch
// this will place the exception name into a variable
put exceptionName() & exceptionreason() into var
// this will write the value of ‘var’ to a file of your choosing