Data driven testing for EggPlant Windows

Hi,
I am new to eggplant and have a question. I have a scenario where I need to get data from a particular row in a text file.
eg. my text file contains the following data-
1001,Fred
1002,Wilma
1003,Jack
1004,Jill

These are actually Id and Value pairs. I will be supplied the id number and have to retrive the corresponding value (say i need the value for 1003).
For a different automation tool in windows I used an excel file for the test data and could easily retieve specific values. I am wondering how to do the same for Eggplant in Windows. Please help!
Thanks!

You can read the file in and turn it into property list, then reference the name by the id using code like this:

Repeat with each line of file "/path/to/datafile"
	put word 1 of item 2 of it into idList.(word 1 of item 1 of it)
end repeat
put idList.(1002) // outputs Wilma in your example

I’m using “word 1 of item x” in this code as a means of stripping off any whitespace, since an item is anything between the commas in a comma-delimited file, and a word is any non-whitespace characters.

Thanks Matt… it worked for me :smiley:

Hi,

I am trying to write a script for a multi-lingual application. Here is my code-

[b]Repeat with each line of file “C:\ProfileScreen_Greek.txt”
put item 2 of it into ls_StringID_String.(word 1 of item 1 of it)
end repeat

put “1170,1171,1173,1178,1179,1205” into ls_IdList
Put fun_VerifyText(ls_IdList,ls_StringID_String)

Function fun_VerifyText(ls_IdList,ls_StringID_String)
repeat with each item x of ls_IdList
put ls_StringID_String.(x) into strString
log strString
end repeat
end function[/b]

The data file ProfileScreen_Greek.txt looks like this -

1170,Μετρητής
1171,Μετρητής συνδεδεμένος
1173,ΗΜΕΡΟΜΗΝΙΑ ΜΕΤΡΗΤΗ
1178,ΩΡΑ ΜΕΤΡΗΤΗ
1179,ΤΥΠΟΣ ΜΕΤΡΗΤΗ:
1205,Μάθετε περισσότερα

When I execute the script I get the error "
STUnknownMessage ERROR: No Such Function: ‘1170’