Can EggPlant work with one system??

Hi All,

I am totally new to EggPlant Automation Tool. I have a query regarding installation process of Eggplant software.

As far as i am concerned Eggplant is a tool that requires two systems i.e. one system wherein this software will get installed and other system where SUT resides and the whole sofware interacts through VNC connection.

But my concern is i have got only one system. Is it possible for me install the software and VNC on the same system where SUT resides and test the SUT. I mean to say that can my system work both as client and server or i have to get 2 systems in place to make Eggplant work.

This doubt arises only because VNC connection is mandatory for Eggplant to interact with SUT.

Kindly help me out whether it is possible or i need to have explicitly 2 different systems to carry out testing.

Regards
Gyan

eggPlant always requires a VNC connection, and that connection has to be to another user session. The other user session can take 3 primary forms:
[list=1][]A second physical computer.
[
]A virtual machine running either on the same computer that is running eggPlant or on some other machine on the network. The VNC server can be running natively within the VM or some VM applications provide a built-in VNC server that generally works as well.
[*]A second, off-screen user session on the same computer eggPlant is running on. On the Mac, this second user session can be launched via Fast User Switching and set to launch a VNC server. On Linux, it will be an XSession, and you can configure the system to automatically create a new session when a VNC connection is initiated.[/list:o]

My work around is to have two displays on my windows machine. When I connect to the vnc server the eggplant window goes into an infinite loop replicating itself. When I drag Eggplant to the second window everything works OK.

It was painstaking at first to figure it out. Follow these steps.